top of page
  • Writer's pictureANYA CINNAMON MACHIN

SO AWKWARD (CBBC & BBC) - AD TEAM

Updated: May 13, 2020

So Awkward is a UK Drama based on three smart ad socialy awkward teenage girls going throughout school, tryig to make sense of life and boys, this project wasa huge eye opeer for me as something that will stay with me for a long time, I tured up to an abandoed school at 7am and was amazed to see that the etire school had been reovated into a set (school) although within the basement rooms they had re created sets of large scale homes ad buildings, living rooms and bedrooms, gardens for me this was absolutly incredible to see as this was one of my first up close experiances workig on a television set.


I was extremly greatful to get to work on this CBBC/BBC set for So Awkward as I worked alongsde the director jason wigard for his short film pavement he had invited me to join him for the day and shadow him as a part of the AD team, this was a brilliant oppertunity where i sat alongside the director for the duration of the day watching how he directed on set, i learnt alot from him, his patience, his humour, how he conencted with his cast and crew and that is something that you simply cant learn within ane ducational setting you must experiance it first hand.


Throughout this day I connected with the crew all who gave been in the industry for a long time, I mainly stook with the director although the script writer really opened my eyes and was extremly helpful in explaining toi me what steps i needed to take within my own career to reach my goals, giving me groups to join etc to further my careear. Throughout the day I also got the oppertuity to bond with the peroducer and get the chance to work alongsode the cast getting them ready for there next scene, ensuring they had everything they needed and kew what the director needed from them. I'm extremly greatful for this oppertunity and getting an insiders look at how the tv industry works, i got the chanec to work alongside the art deparment and see there future plans, I joined the crew towards the end of the serise and for the crew this was a sad time as the cast were to be graduating high school that means the next serise would be following high school meaning they would leave the set behind, i was honoured to get to see the set and work alongside everyone before it ended.


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page