top of page
  • Writer's pictureANYA CINNAMON MACHIN

BBC NORTH WEST TONIGHT @ MSOA “A DEAL WITH THE UNIVERSE” (08/04/2019)


This day for me was such an incredible opportunity not only for me but also for our production company: “MOVE Film Collective” and our tutor Loran Dunn and the new film she produced “A Deal with the Universe”. The day started early with a production meeting with our collective to discuss what we would go over etc. we knew we wanted to start out by promoting our film festival that starts on the 10thJune 2019 and our gallery show that runs from 7thJune – 18thJune 2019, we also wanted to discuss our company as a whole and what makes us different as a collective to other company’s.


Once BBC arrived we began setting up all our equipment in our studio space, we had lights, cameras, multiple lenses, dolly’s, diffusers, reflectors and so on, the BBC wanted to first of all film our space and show our working environment to get a taste for our course and what the 3rdyears have been doing over the past year, we decided to set up a plinth in which we put our newly arrived awards onto, the awards were designed and created by another Move collective member Lily’s farther, the awards are made from recycled glass showing 3 aspect ratios, we are having 12 awards made for us and were so happy with the outcome of them, we decided to start filming the awards on the dolly to get some extra footage for our social media pages, we did this so that BBC could film around us getting a taste for what we do on our social media pages, we also got out the super 8 cameras and did some funny clips to add to our instagram.


BBC and our tutor then asked if we could have someone dance, and although I may have two left feet when it comes to dancing I did have a very long skirt on and love a good spin. They began filming me spin around the room in front of our camera’s this was quite unusual for me as I’m typically a shy person although over the past year since creating our production company I’ve found I’ve really come out of my shell so much, I feel this is down to the amount of interactive things we have been able to undergo and this is something I’m extremely grateful for.


Once we had finished filming around the studio space BBC started to interview our tutor Loran Dunn or her new feature film she produced “A Deal with the universe” this film focuses on Jason Barker’s Transgender journey as he comes pregnant and documents his transition and parenting journey, for both our tutor and our class this was huge for us, and as a collective we couldn’t be prouder of our tutor and her place within the industry, for me I think its absolutely incredible to be able to have Loran as our tutor, helping on our films and giving us advice, especially when we get to see her work it just reminds us how incredible she is.


Once Loran’s interview was over I had the opportunity to also be interviewed, we discussed where I saw myself after leaving university and where I’m aiming to be in years time, we then discussed our production company and how we created it and what we stand for, for me this was such an empowering thing to do and I really impressed myself with how I didn’t panic under pressure, I feel I answered all questions to the best of my ability, we then went on to disc “A Deal with the Universe” and how it is to have our tutor as a producer within the industry, and as I said I feel so lucky to have such a great medium of tutors around me everyone of them are incredible in there own way, Loran films have always inspired me such a Nosebleed etc. its just amazing to see the great scale of media that “A Deal with the Universe” is getting and we couldn’t be more grateful to have Loran around.


Overall the BBC coming in showed me so much and really gave me an insight into how they work as a business to, I enjoyed observing the cinematographer and interviewer and how they worked behind the scenes together, I think often when we think of the BBC we think of large scale productions with big production lights, focus pullers, camera assistants, directors when in actual fact it was a cinematographer who set up one single LED light and his tripod alongside the interviewer, for me this gave me a whole new outlook on this and I really enjoyed seeing this first hand it was inspiring to say the least.



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page