top of page
  • Writer's pictureANYA CINNAMON MACHIN

JOB APPLICATIONS

Updated: May 3, 2019

In terms of applying for jobs I've been doing quite a large chunk of applying I started out at the beginning of the year by looking online for film jobs within Manchester and started applying for them, around this time I started looking into the teaching assistant job role in which I have curated its own blog post about, you will find this further down in the blog section, alongside this I knew if I was to get the role it would only be around 3 days a week meaning I'd need another job on the side, with this n mind I started looking fro filmmaking jobs within media city looking into the BBC etc. Around this time I got in contact with an older student from Manchester School of Art who graduated the year I started, she has recently been working within the industry at ITV and the Jeremy Kyle show at this point she gave me the contact details to Jason Wingard who worked on Jemery Kyle, BGT, The Voice and Factor and also Stuart Cunningham who is the mentor at media: The big question, I immediately ent them both emails expressing that I was looking for work within the industry following my graudtation 2019. They both quickly got in contact thanking me for getting in contact, Jason expressed he was currently working on a project outside of the UK although upon his arrival back August 2019 to get in contact again and Stuart expressed to get in contact closer to my graduation time, these are two great contacts to have who I will get back In contact with after graduation in hopes of working alongside them.


Following this I was asked by ASOS Scout to come down to there head office in London to have a test photoshoot to see if they would like to hire me as a model, for me modelling is a side option, something I do for fun but I jumped at the opportunity as I wanted a glimpse of Behind the scenes and on set at ASOS, I set off on my 7 hour long car journey from Sheffield to London and met up with a scout at ASOS, she first of all took me to the makeup room, for me it was amazing to see such a large production team and how they work together, the director stood behind the makeup artist always checking up on both makeup and costume design, she them gave me a tour around the studios that were absolutely amazing, I found it so intresting to see the great quantity of studios they had, and now it was finally time for my shoot I went in and stood in a medium sized studio, Huge film lights flooding the room, I was instantly fascinated by the equipment in which they had, The computer editing softwares, The cameras, The lights. I had so many questions, whats this? where did you get this? how does this work? Its as clear to both myself and them that the filmmaking and photography side of ASOS was super captivating to me, Following the shoot I discussed my filmmaking career with the scout who said it would be within my best interest to head down to the main studio too ee the videography and how it works.


We headed down and immediately I was fascinated online you see the model walk down the runway although I came to the realisation this was actually fiction, what happens is the model is stood in a large studio flooded by light and multiple MacBooks that are all connected to the camera, the model is told to walk around in circles, the people behind the scenes then drag the girl out of the studios setting and immediately edit it there on set to show her walking down the runway, this was so interesting for me, I had the opportunity to sit next to the editors and ask them multiple questions, following this meeting it was immediately clear to me that I didn't want to model for ASOS, I wanted to be an ASOS director, editor or cinematographer and here my process of applications started. Alongside the ASOS applications I found an amazing independent filmmaking job website named "DOTS" here you can upload all your previous made films, you CV, an overview of yourself as a filmmaker and then start applying for jobs via this website, for me this was incredible and everything I was looking for within a Job finding app, I've recently started applying for videographer and photographer jobs as well as film festival curator jobs, I'm still awaiting reply for although will continue applying for filmmaking and photography jobs around my area (Manchester, Sheffield, Leeds).






14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page