top of page
  • Writer's pictureANYA CINNAMON MACHIN

FILM FESTIVAL SUBMISSIONS 2019

Updated: May 3, 2019

Throughout this academic year I continued from what I had been doing the previous year of applying to film festivals, the best way I've personally found to do this is via film freeway a website where you can upload you films, synopsis and roles to then apply to multiple festivals. Something that really captivates me the most about applying to festivals is the want to show others my work, for them to feel the same emotion in which I felt throughout the creation of.


Over the past year I've been curating a list of film festivals and oppertunities in which I feel would be the best to apply for these go as follows (BFI, BAFTA, RTS, DBACE, Random Acts, TYNESIDE Cinema and shortflix). These are festivals and opportunity's that I really want to be aiming for within the near future yet they do come at a price and this is where my fundraiser comes into play as some festivals range from free to hundreds of pounds to apply.


In the process of creating my final film I decided it would be best to start applying to other festivals with my research and development film OFF THE RECORD and also my other film OBSESSIVE COMPULSIVE ME that was actually selected may 2018 for 'UKCineFest' this really boosted my confidence and made me want to aim for more, there for I have been submitting and although when you down get selected theres a little nagging feeling that you failed I believe its highly necessary to keep on applying to see if your considered as every festival is different and looking for different aspects and themes of filmmaking.


Something that really helped boost my confidence and I feel our whole production company confidence was when one of our very own Charlene Jones got selected and won an award for BFI with her extremely personal and touching film 'Henceforth' that covers her emotional journey of loosing both parents, sharing both her and her siblings emotions. Seeing another student get an award alike this really boosted our confidence and showed us we can do whatever we want if we put our minds to it.


As well as applying for festivals I've been looking for smaller screenings around Manchester, Leeds and Sheffield in order to show my films, I'm really confident within this area now and feel I'll get more recongisation in the Sheffield and Leeds area based on being from South Yorkshire and my films mainly surrounding that area.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page