top of page
  • Writer's pictureANYA CINNAMON MACHIN

GRAD FILM CROWD FUNDER


As part of the advertisement for my graduate film "PREY" I felt it was a good idea to set up a crowd funder, now its important to keep in mind at the time I set up my crowd funder we were in post production, the editing process.


I decided I needed to set up a crowd funder based on my future plan to submit this project to as many festivals as possible, I started doing research into festival in which catches my eye alike (BFI, BAFTA, RTS, DBACE, Random Acts, Tyne Side cinema, Short flex and many more) the realisation of the cost to submit to these festivals really hit me it can be anywhere from free to £150.


I decided the best course of action was to set up a 'Gofundme' account where I'd explain to my audience what my film is about, what I need financial support for and what I'll give in return, I was originally optimistic about the £300 goal as after doing my research and also looking into other films being funded on the course I realised a lot of other students were managing to raise around £400 in 24 hours through sites alike go fund me.


With this in mind I started advertising on social media (Instagram, facebook, Snapchat, Linked In, Tumblr), I then got in contact with our production company "Move film collectives" social media team and asked for them to share on (Instagram and facebboook), I also requested for it to be added onto our website in hopes this would help me financially with the festivals.


I have ensured to leave my go fund me up online until 217th may when our film deadline, although unfortunately it hasn't been going to plan, I feel I maybe was slightly too optimistic after seeing what pother people on the course had raised, I made sure to follow the correct social media strategies and followed the correct procedure although compared to there £300/400 in 24 hours I have only made £40 in 7 days, for me this was a real downfall, I'm assuming this is based on my film being in post production and just needing the finances for festivals although its too soon to say, I'm keeping optimism and hoping that if I keep sharing some other people will help me out.







8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page