top of page
  • Writer's pictureANYA CINNAMON MACHIN

DAUGHTERS OF NECESSITY: SERENA KORDA & WAKEFIELD'S CERMICS 2018

Daughters of Necessity: Serena Korda & Wakefield’s Ceramics.

Additionally, throughout the year, I visited an exhibition in Wakefield, this exhibition explored how objects can often sit between both ‘function and sculpture’.


This inspired me a lot as I thought it was something I could incorporate in my final year, especially in units alike unit x that are set up as exhibitions for your audience to interact with, this particular exhibition the sculpture was made up of 29 individual porcelain mushrooms being suspended from the ceiling, you notice wires hanging from the bottom of the mushrooms and see they’re connected to an amplifier.


Vessels placed around the room are open to an invitation for you to place your ear to, here you will hear a range of bass like tones, this was something unique that caught my eye.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page