top of page
  • Writer's pictureANYA CINNAMON MACHIN

IN PROCESS GALLERY SHOW


After creating our research and development films our tutor Jenny Baines decided it was time for us to put on our own gallery show for the public to come see our work up to date, we did this as we felt it would be a great opportunity to show our work, receive feedback and also experience the gallery show before actually putting on our final gallery show at the end of the year. For this particular gallery show I organising and running the gallery, for me this was a great opportunity where I could really get stuck in and show what I was capable of and what I could handle, there was times where we had so much to do yet we persevered and had such a great outcome at the end.


To start we got the floor plans and it was my job to decide where things should go we knew we had multiple show reels and films people wanted to show so I began looking at the floor plans, we were super lucky and had so much space for this we had the main gallery space and also the dark room. The first decision I made was that show reels and films would be shown on a loop within the dark room as we could play the films individually with sound, the next thing I decided was that silent 16mm films would be played from projector within the main gallery space, the main issue here was the lack of plug sockets that worked around the room, yet I was told by the gallery manager that the plug sockets in the middle of the room worked there for I decided we would put 3 plinths in the middle of the room, put the projectors on top and plug them into the middle, we would then project onto the three main walls, in the dead spaces around the room is where we would add instillation works.


When it came to the day we met early grabbing all projector and media player, plinths and extension leads and started setting up, at this point we had a few master student who brought me a projector, media player and SD card and asked for me to set up there work too, although I was busy trying to organise everyone else’s work I made time to ensure there piece was up and running.


The next issue we had was that I’d arranged for everyone to meet at 9am although by 2pm most people still hadn’t arrived, we was fully set up but missing certain instillations that people hadn’t come into set up yet, we finally got in contact with these people and they were able to rush down and we helped set up there work.I then took it upon myself to make leaflets to leave around the room with filmmaker’s details and film names on for guests to pick up so they knew what they as watching etc. Overall the night went so well and we got some amazing feedback on our gallery show, I felt so grateful to have had such a large role in this, it really boosted my confidence and showed me how I can work under pressure, my tutor actually told me I re Want to add a caption to this image? Click the Settings icon. minded her a lot of herself and her passion for organisation when working I the gallery space.












3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page