top of page
  • Writer's pictureANYA CINNAMON MACHIN

JOHN ROBB & FICTION RECORDS 40 YEAR CELEBRATION

Updated: Apr 25, 2019

Late 2017 I found myself feasting upon vegan goodies in Manchester’s famous vegan food diner Vrevs, during my time there I noticed the man, the myth, the legend mr. John Robb, the man who discovered nirvana, documented stone roses rise out of Manchester and coined the term brit pop.


The following day myself and Robb connected via social media platforms Instagram and Facebook, we quickly exchanged numbers and emails as we realised that we could really help each other out, John being in his own band The Membranes and myself being a filmmaker, During the first few weeks of connecting with John he asked me if I’d like to start writing for his magazine “Louder than war” I jumped at this opportunity, so when I was offered guest list tickets to see the membranes I knew this was a huge opportunity to go and write an article.


The following day at university we was given a new brief for fiction record 40 year celebration, I started researching an upon reading about the founder Chris Parry I knew John would have so much to say, I quickly sent over an email, explaining my ideas for this short film for fiction record, I explained to John I’d love him to come through to be interviewed about band alike the cure, the stone roses, Yeah Yeah Yeahs and Tame Impala giving an insight into not only the label but also the founder, he agreed straight away and the following week we did the interview, this taught me a lot on interviewing.


Throughout my childhood I was asked the interview bands alike The Enemy and Pete Doherty due to contacts within there management although I was always too shy, being sat in front of a huge influencer alike John Robb really boosted my confidence and I found I spoke with ease at all times and managed to get some amazing information from him, the finished project worked so well and was taken to an exhibition at the Night and Day café in Manchester, the whole night went so well and this was the start of a great friendship between myself and John moving forward.


· Fiction Records Project:





4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page