top of page
  • Writer's pictureANYA CINNAMON MACHIN

NEW ORDER EXHIBITION 2018

As some additional evidence as to exhibitions, I thought I’d speak about an art exhibition I visited towards the begging of the academic year at Manchester art gallery as a part of MIF (Manchester International Festival) ,(closing date: 3rd September) although this exhibition was just before the starting of university its something I took a lot of inspiration from.


True Faith explores the everlasting significance and legacy that both Joy Division and New order hold, looking into the visual art in which their music created.


The exhibition has quite a lethargic yet touching feel, being able to explore Ian Curtis handwritten lyrics and ramblings on half screwed up pieces of paper, the exhibit focus on four decades of ‘extraordinary contemporary’ works of art’s made by artists all derived and taken inspiration from New Order and Joy Division.


This exhibit really opened my eyes to the opportunities in which space can give you, throughout the exhibition there multiple light exhibits and sources that I found fascinating and would love to incorporate such light sources in my work.




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page