top of page
  • Writer's pictureANYA CINNAMON MACHIN

THERE IS A LIGHT THAT NEVER GOES OUT: ROCKARCHIVE EXHIBITION @ MANCHESTER CENTRAL LIBRARY


The exhibition you wait a lifetime for, There is a light that never goes out captured some of the most incredible pivotal moments within Manchester’s music scene, this exhibition was arranged by Jill Furmanovsky. This project showed everything from 1970 punk bands straight into the hacienda years in which I grew up on the story’s of, Joy division, New Order, The Smiths and into the Madchester years with the Happy Mondays, The stone Roses and Oasis.


For me this exhibition was everything I had awaited, I moved to Manchester based on this music scene, the lifestyle that follows, I grew up on this and I eat it all up, walking into that room and being surrounded by the incredible portraits in which photographers such as Kevin Cummins, Paul Slattery, Penny Smith and many more had created, it was fascinating to gaze upon the images of the stone roses, the Mondays and Mark. E smith and The fall hanging around the city, in total here was around 90 images, that were most for sale for a high price that is.


Overall I feel necessary to discuss this exhibition as Manchester music scene has truly impacted my life, I’d go as far as saying I wouldn’t be here without it, Manchester’s music was the reason my parents met, it was the reason they brought me to Manchester most weekends as a child, it was the reason I fell in love with this town, and its also the reason I moved to Manchester, this being so close to my heart was amazing to be able to go and see the works of these photographers.


Following our final films I want it start researching more into the music scene in Manchester and create a documentary, I’ve began networking with John Robb from the membranes who followed the stone roses rise out of Manchester and I feel this is a great place to start with a documentary, I hope to network more and hopefully create a documentary on Manchester music scene and its development into the 2000’s as the music is ever present today, it still lives on within us all and our parents stories.



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page